11. Working with Steps View

In Session Review page, the Steps View shows screens and steps being captured when you executed the session recording.

1. Select all screens

To select all screens, click on Select all (0) link

2. Deselect all screens

To deselect all screens, click on None link

3. Add more screens from local machine

To add more screens to the Completed session, click on + icon in the top of the Steps View

An open file dialog will be shown for you to select images from your machine to add to the current reviewing session as new screens

The new screen(s) will be added below the active selected screen in Steps View. Below screenshot show a new screen namely qTest-full being added to the Steps View after choosing a file named qTest-full.png in local machine.

Tip:

You can add more screens to the reviewing session by selecting images from your computer and drag them to the Steps View

4. More options

There are additional options you can choose when working with Steps View by clicking on more option icon, as below screenshot

Below are descriptions of those options:

  • Show all actions: select this option to show all actions associated with all captured screens. This option is selected by default
  • Screens with note: select this option to show screens that have notes
  • Show timestamp: select this option to show the captured timestamp of screen and actions
  • Restart at 1 for every screen: select this option to reset order number of steps on each screen

5. Show or hide the Steps View

You can temporarily hide the Steps View to make space for the screenshot editor by clicking on Collapse Steps View icon in the top right corner of the Steps View panel

To expand the Steps View, click on Expand Steps View icon

6. Edit screen information

In Steps View, you can edit screen information with functionalities provided on each screen thumbnail.

Edit screen title

Double click on screen title to change the title of screen. Once you are done with the editing, just click outside of the edit title text box.

Edit step

Double click on step to change its description. Once you are done with the editing, just click outside of the edit title text box

Remove screen

To remove a screen, click on 'X' icon in the top right corner of screen thumbnail

More functionalities on a screen

There are more functionalities that you can use to edit or manipulate with a screen. Below screenshot show those functionalities with associated number for easy reference.

Description of the functionalities:

  1. Reorder screen by moving it up one level
  2. Reorder screen by moving it down one level
  3. Add a new Note to the screen
  4. Add a new Step to the screen
  5. Navigate to the web page if a screen has a URL
  6. Show/hide action spots on screenshot editor