8.7 Recycle bin

qTest now supports an option allowing users to temporarily remove unnecessary objects and restore them later if need be. When deleting objects, qTest places them in the Recycle Bin and they can be restored to their original locations. This Recycle Bin is located on toolbar of Test Plan, Requirements, Test Design, and Test Execution modules. Most of qTest objects, including Releases, Builds, Modules, Requirements, Test Cases, Test Cycles, Test Suites, and Test Runs can be deleted and restored.

Only users who have Delete objects permission can restore deleted objects.

A. To delete objects temporarily :

  1. Select objects to delete, then drag and drop them into Recycle Bin on top of the toolbar Navigation tree in any module

     Recycle_Bin_4.png

  2. In the Confirmation pop-up, select Yes to confirm your deletion. The selected objects will be temporarily deleted and placed in Recycle Bin.

    Recycle_Bin_2.png

B. To delete objects permanently:Once objects are placed in Recycle Bin, you can permanently delete objects

  1. Click Recycle Bin icon Recycle_Bin_icon.pngon top of toolbar of Navigation tree in any module
  2. Select the menu and objects you want to delete permanently from Recycle Bin
  3. Click Delete Permanently. The selected objects will be removed out of Recycle Bin and CANNOT be restored.

Delete_Permanently.png

C. To restore objects:

  1. Click Recycle Bin icon Recycle_Bin_icon.pngon top of toolbar of Navigation tree in any module
  2. Select the menu and objects you want to restore from Recycle Bin
  3. Click Restore button to confirm. The selected objects will be moved back to their original locations.

Restore_Objects.png

button-round-warning-icon.pngHINT:

  • A deleted parent folder containing child objects will appear in the Recycle Bin with an Expandable icon. You can expand to view its child objects. However, its child objects will not display in the same hierarchical structure, instead in a flat structure.
  • Although the child objects display in Recycle Bin in a flat structure, they will be restored in their originally hierarchical structure.
  • If you delete a parent folder, all associated and child objects under that folder will also be removed. These associated and child objects can not be restored separately but only be restored along with the parent deleted folder.

Hierarchy_structure.pngFlat_Structure.png