Menu

User Management Settings

Invite User to Project

After users have been invited into the site (described in the article Invite Users to qTest Manager), you can invite users into a project and control their permissions.  You must be a Project Administrator to use this functionality.  Each project is regarded as its own workspace with separate data, settings and users.  When a user is invited into a project, he/she will receive an email notification and can access the project from the project pick list located in the top left of qTest Manager.

To invite users into a project, perform the following steps.

  1. Position the arrow cursor over the gear icon located in the top right area of the page.  A drop-down menu is displayed.



    IMPORTANT
    :  If the User Management option is not shown in the drop-down menu, you must request and be granted Project Administrator privileges to create a new project.  

  2. Select the User Management option.  
  3. In the left panel, click the + sign under the Users tab.  



  4. A list of users you previously invited into qTest Manager is displayed.  Select the users you want to invite into this project.
  5. A notification email is sent to the user indicating they are invited to the project. Once the user is invited to that project, they can access that project by selecting it in the drop-down list from the qTest header, as shown below:

     

Remove User from Project

To remove a user from a project, perform the following steps. 

  1. Click the Gear icon and select the User Management option from the drop-down menu.  The Project Admin page is displayed.  A list of users for the project is displayed in the left panel.
  2. In the left panel, select the user you want to delete from the project.  (You can select multiple users to delete by holding down the CTRL key.)  
  3. Click the Remove icon (the minus sign) in the left panel to remove the user(s).  The user(s) you remove will lose all permissions for this project and will no longer be able to access the project.

     

Edit User Permissions within Project

Each user profile contains a predefined set of permissions (e.g., create a test case, approve a test case, etc.) and any user assigned that user profile receives those permissions.  For example, inside a given project, the user might be assigned a Business Analyst user profile or a Project Admin user profile with a set of permissions associated with that role.  A user profile can be assigned to different users, and is an easy way to standardize permissions for multiple users. For more details, check out this article: User Profiles

To give permissions based on a user profile, perform the following steps.  

  1. Select the project.  
  2. Click the Gear icon and select the User Management option from the dropdown menu.  The Project Admin screen is displayed.  This page displays a list of all users in the selected project and the permissions for each user.  Each checkbox represents a specific permission within the project. 



    The permissions a user has in the selected project can be defined by the profile he or she is assigned.  You can change a user’s permissions on a per project basis in one of two ways.   

  3. Select the user in the left panel.  Then, in the User Profile area of the page, click the down arrow and assign the user a different user profile (e.g., Business Analyst, Developer, etc.).


Alternatively, you can customize the permissions granted to a user more specifically by selecting or deselecting various checkboxes in the user’s profile.  For example, if you no longer want the user to be able to edit releases and builds and to create builds in this project, you can deselect the applicable checkboxes in the user’s profile.


When a user’s permissions are changed in this way, the updated permissions apply only to that user and have no impact on other users assigned that user profile.  

Click the Save button to save your changes.  

HINT: You can also change permissions for multiple users by modifying the user profile in Site Administration.  Those change will apply to any users assigned to that user profile.   

Subscribe To Our Blog
Powered by Zendesk